“Christian”, huh?

It seems everyone wears the name “christian” nowadays. I have a hard time even using the term at all, because it’s become so muddy now. There’s the guy talking about having sex with multiple women at once…yeah, he wears the name. And the woman who professes to be a christian, yet constantly degrades her husband and is leaving him because he’s not the same man she married. She’s out clubbing and enjoying herself with all kinds of other men and yet still calls herself a “christian”?

I think you’re supposed to capitalize the name, but that’s because it’s supposed to have some pride to it. It’s a title. It’s an honor. Right?

Honor? Where’s the honor? I mean seriously, what does it mean to be “a chosen people”? Peter said in I Peter 2:9:

“But you are a chosen people, a royal priesthood, a holy nation, a people belonging to God, that you may declare the praises of him who called you out of darkness into his wonderful light.”

Sadly, this problem runs crazily through the “body of Christ”. I could name numerous problems in the people around me, but I don’t have to look much farther than myself. I sympathize so much with Paul in Romans 7 when it comes to this discussion. The things I know I shouldn’t be doing or thinking, I just keep doing and thinking them. But, the things I want to do so bad, I don’t do them. I lust. I’m prideful. I’m foolish. I feel his Spirit moving me to boldly proclaim his saving love and I stop.  I am such a wretched man.

I’m missing it. Haven’t we all? We, as the people of God, have really lost sight of what it means to be called out. We’re saved by grace. But, what has changed?

“God, please purify me. Purify all of us. I’m sick of all this back and forth. Out of the same mouth come blessings and cursing. You are such a loving God and I am such a wretch. I just want to do what I say I’m going to do. I am so thankful that your grace is sufficient. I’ve been made in your image, but totally lost sight of what that means in how I live. I’m still in that darkness Peter was talking about, Father. I want to be in the light. Help me to stop comparing myself to the sinners around me and to compare myself to Jesus, the author and perfecter of my faith. He wasn’t just righteous, he was the very essence of righteousness. Let his righteousness dwell within me. It is no longer I who live, Father. Christ, live in me. Let your name mean something in me.” 

~ by Derek Guyer on April 7, 2008.

2 Responses to ““Christian”, huh?”

  1. Too many people, including spiritual leaders, are focused on what God can do for them, and not on holiness and sanctification. This sets people up for apostasy. We have to be separate from the world, love others but avoid sin. Leadership has failed the body of Christ, because well taught people should not act like you describe.

    marianne

  2. Marianne, I agree. We look at the people around us and justify our own inaction by others hypocrisy. We need to only compare ourselves to a holy God. That’s when we’ll find ourselves “poor in spirit” and “mourning”…exactly where God wants us.

Leave a comment