Letting Him Speak

The Spirit has lead me through some very uncomfortable conversations recently. I don’t particularly enjoy saying blunt things and especially the way the Spirit convicts me to do so, but I’m understanding more and more why Paul said “it is no longer I who live, but Christ lives in me”. God does some amazing things and convicts people in some very uncomfortable ways when I shut up and let him talk.

Try as hard as I may, I just can’t seem to say or do the right things. I’m amazed at how simply accepting and obeying the Spirit he’s given me as a gift, can change things drastically. Conversations, questions, problems…all of it. They’re all changed in a moment if I’m still and listening.

We, as the body of Christ, have done a pretty good job of squelching the gift within us. My great friend and brother-in-Christ, Steve, awakened me to his presence and showed me a side of God I had never experienced several years ago. To say I’m thankful would be a drastic understatement. 

“Don’t you know that you yourselves are God’s temple and that God’s Spirit lives in you?”

I Corinthians 3:16

I’d encourage you to stop and just listen for a minute. He’s speaking. Are you listening?

~ by Derek Guyer on April 20, 2008.

2 Responses to “Letting Him Speak”

  1. Talking to you on the phone about this today caught by (a nice) surprise. Someone pointed out to me once that a thousand people can walk right in front of a wise man without realizing it. But if that man doesn’t realize God speaks through him, is he still wise? I guess if God can speak through an ass and make rocks praise Him, He can speak through me too.

  2. Love your blog. The writings have ministered to my soul. I appreciate your candid honesty and your love for Jesus shines through. I used to resist the voice of God until I just learned to embrace it and it has changed my life for the better. God is speaking! He is looking for a vessel who will not only listen but obey. God Bless you and keep writing because your words are edifying to the soul!

Leave a Reply

 
